JCurve

What Should I Do with My Life, Now? | Fast Company

Posted on: March 24, 2009

Michael Dell had invited me down to its annual meeting of The Business Council, and I was put on a panel with several other CEOs, which was moderated by the tremendous journalist Michael Lewis. The topic of our panel was, What Do Employees Want? And the CEOs took their turn describing all the benefits they gave their employees, and how they gave out free M&Ms on Wednesdays, and appeased them with stock options and free parking spaces. When I spoke, I thought everyone would laugh at me, snickering How indulgent! How naïve! Because my point was essentially a variation on the theme of this Fast Company article — employees don’t want M&Ms, they want to love what they do. Highly-motivated people are the productive engine of modern civilization.

Indeed! Loving what you do is very important. The number one driving factor is that it must feel good getting out of bed to go to work!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • bigsurf: yeah it's really cool.. well i guess you can also come to Singapore as there's a big cosplay thing going on here too!
  • Lasitha Silva: I also like to have a snap with a Star wars character. And I think..I need to be at Tokyo for that. Coz I love to be there too.
  • Mr WordPress: Hi, this is a comment.To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts' comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Categories

