JCurve

Launch On TechCrunch, Get Bought By Google

Posted on: June 9, 2009

The company got a lot of attention as one of the first Ajax-powered “online Word” products. An acquisition by Google came just a few months later, and Writely formed the foundation for what is now Google Docs.

Old school stuff.

I think i’m getting nostalgic.

It’s been nearly 4+ years, close to 5 years since I started reading TechCrunch.

Back in 2005. Writely was one of the coolest products I found off Techcrunch and proceeded to use it intensely. Signing up for beta, using it to make collaborative shopping lists.

Also found YouTube around that time. Went to the first few TechCrunch parties in Atherton. Felt funny but also pretty fuzzy. I still remember sitting on the couch in Mike Arrington’s house and the BBQ pit and the dog. Haha.

So reading this post about Writely brings me back to today. Google Docs is a product that has changed my life. I not only use it on a daily basis. It forms the core of my business. And I even sell it and make a living off it.

Isn’t it interesting where serendipity can bring you?

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • bigsurf: yeah it's really cool.. well i guess you can also come to Singapore as there's a big cosplay thing going on here too!
  • Lasitha Silva: I also like to have a snap with a Star wars character. And I think..I need to be at Tokyo for that. Coz I love to be there too.
  • Mr WordPress: Hi, this is a comment.To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts' comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Categories

